Ozone Chabre Open 2011


Glider winner Staffan Rolfsson with Russ Ogden (Ozone), Auguste Trupheme (Mayor of Laragne) and Jean-Michel Reynier (Deputy)

Competition 2011: Programme of events, Task Reports.

Results and Party Night
So, after a successful final day, the pilots began to party while the scorers calculated the final results of the 6th Ozone Chabre Open. The prizegiving ceremony was run by the ever efficient Jocky, flanked by David and Russ, and with the support of Laragne ’s mayor, Auguste and deputy, Jean-Michel.

Taking first prize overall was Sander de Lepper of Holland on his Ozone Mantra 4. He won the special prize of a glider flight with, Klaus Ohlmann, world record holder and pilot extraordinaire and owner of local gliding school, Quo Vadis at Serres. Taking second place overall was Gavin Foster (GBR) on an Advance Omega 8, and in third place, Tony Blacker (GBR) on an Ozone Delta. Prizes were given out to the first three places of all 5 classes. And team prizes too! A summary of results follows this report and full results are available elsewhere on the website.

After the prize-giving, a splendid dinner was provided for all by Camping Monteglin. Midway, the infamous Ozone prize draw took place, with literally dozens of prizes presented to as many pilots. But it was the first ticket out the hat that everyone was waiting for – the Ozone glider prize in 2011 was won by Staffan Rolfsson of Sweden. His glider of choice was an Ozone Rush 3 in custom colours – congratulations Staffan! Then the tables were progressively moved back as the dancing began. The Rocket Band were on fine form and entertained us until the wee small hours of the morning!

Sander de Lepper (NED) Ozone Mantra 4
Gavin Foster (GBR) Advance Omega 8
Hans Ter Matt (NED) Nova Triton

Sports Class
Tony Blacker (GBR) Ozone Delta
Rory Lynch (IRL) Advance Sigma
Chris Blanchard (GBR) Ozone Octane

Fun Class
Steve Newcombe (GBR) Axis Vega 2
Phil Cunningham (GBR) Niviuk Hook
Stéphane Meytadier (FRA) Niviuk Hook

Dominique Lion (BEL) Advance Sigma 7
Grant Oseland (GBR) Advance Sigma 8
Serge Gommers (BEL) Airwave Sport 4

Catherine Bartholdi (SUI) Ozone Delta
Gillian le Gras (GBR) Gradient Golden 2
Rachael Evans (GBR) Ozone Buzz Z3

RagsMasters of Ceremonies Glider Winner 


Sport Class



X Class

X Class
Fun Class

Task Report

2011 Photos

Results (pdf)Overall
X class
Sports class
Fun Class
(1 to 2 MB each)

T0_igc, T0_kml
T1_igc, T1_kml
T2_igc, T2_kml

8 Jun_igc, 8 Jun_kml

Task Results (pdf)
Task 1
Task 2